Why I’m a feminist

feminaust ~ for australian feminism

BY HANNAH LEWIS

A friend recently came out to me. I was as outraged as I was surprised.

She’s a human rights lawyer who works in a university. She wasn’t the sort of person I expected to be having that conversation with.

The conversation we had is one that I’ve had before. It’s a conversation that I’m more than a little bit over.

“Well, Hannah,” my friend told me, “of course I believe in women’s human rights it’s just that feminism is irrelevant. Besides, I don’t want to tarnish myself with a label that implies hairy legs, lesbianism and militant ranting.”

For a lesbian who is prone to eloquent, but forceful discussion, her take on feminism was disappointing and surprising. I’m sure, dear readers, you’ll understand my outrage at her ‘outing.’ 

View original post 399 more words

Leave a Reply

